The Process

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dragonchef

Reaction score
Excuse the long post. Not sure if this should go in the newbie topics, trip reports or where, so I am throwing it down here. This is a personal story about a boy and his bike...

I started riding when I was in my teens, before I could legally ride. I always loved it. I bought a bike shortly after my 16th birthday. I rode until I accepted my current job working for Uncle Sam in Seoul, South Korea. That was over 17 years ago, and I am still here. When I moved, I put my Suzuki GS in storage. It is still there today...

I always told myself that I would get a new bike when I moved back to the US. Ands the years kept flying by...

August 9th 2006, I was walking home though a wooded ridge on the base here in Seoul. On my path, there is a wall that I leapt down every day, no big deal (about 1 meter). As I approached it (mindlessly) I twisted my ankle, and next thing I know I fell face first off the wall, and landed on some pavers on the bottom. Knocked the wind out of me, as well as all the stuff in my pockets. Brush off, get up, go home and go about my business. Felt ok, but a little queasy later after I ate pizza for dinner. Flash to about 8 hours after the fall, and I can't sleep. I get up to use the restroom, and after finishing, all but pass out. Yell to the wife, who helps me to the car, and over to the base hospital. After 2 hours of the doc guessing (I had already figured it out, but he said no way), he does an ultrasound and finds my gut full of blood. Ruptured spleen, bleeding for 10 hours now. In to surgery, lost 8 pints of blood, out of surgery, and touch and go for 3 days. I was 275 pounds, completely out of shape, never exercised and had every conceivable tube and machine hooked up to me.

Me;

IMG_2172.jpg

Surgeon that saved my life;

IMG_2173.jpg