Dumb question about engine idle

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mogambo

Reaction score
My 06 FJR used to idle at roughly 1100. Now it is roughly 1000. I know that normal idle speed should be between 1000 and 1100. Now as we all know, I am no mechanical genius, but..... Why would it drop like that all on it's own? On a fuel injected bike, how do you adust the idle speed. Why do I care? Because I feel that the throttle response was better when it was idling at 1100.

Thank you my friends, I await your most knowledgeable input.

Last edited by a moderator:
Cannot answer your question about idle speed dropping but the adjustment knob is on the right side in the gap between the faring about half way down.

Mac

Mogambo, it appears that idle speed on Gen IIs (like your '06) is more critical to engine management operation than on Gen Is. You're probably correct in feeling a difference in throttle response? It appears that '07s may be even more susceptible to 'different' running due to idle speed setting.

The systems for idle speed adjustment are different, I'm told, between Gen I & Gen II -- even tho the knob & location are similar.

Sharper minds may be along soon to illuminate this topic more -- hopefully? :eek:

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes, thats a dumb question. Now what were we talking about? :rolleyes:

Have you done a TBS?you may have mis adjusted during the process or if you have not done a TBS you may need to.

What, ya lookin' ta take my title fencer? :p Gotta admit you cut right to the chase on that one. ;)

Come on you Gen II guys! help em out :dribble: Slackers!

:jester:

Wait till it lowers to 900...then it will die on idle on it's own until the temp reaches normal operating.

Crank it back up to 1100 by turning the knob and everything will be back to normal.