2005 Model issues? Feedback needed

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GeorgiaRoller

Exit Stage Left
Reaction score
Forgive my ignorance first & foremost. I am coming off from riding cruiser's over the past 5yrs and have my eye on a couple of lightly used 2005 model's. I've done some research on this site but I wanted to ask a few questions. Again I'm totally new to not only the FJR but even sport touring bikes in general. Here's my questions: (I have looked at the Comparo Matix as well)

- I see the 2005 model is the last of the Gen I bikes, is there anything I should be aware of with the 2005 model in particular? Issues? Things to watch for?

- Is there a particular year FJR that is known to have more issues than another or a year to avoid purchasing?

- What is this spider wiring issue I read about on here sometimes? Is that something fixed by a recall or is it only effecting certain year FJR's?

- Would a 2006 or 2007 Gen II bike be significantly better? If so, please explain

- Is getting 100k miles on a FJR (with good regular maintenance) too far fetched to expect?

Finally what would be considered a fair price to pay a private seller for a very good condition 2005 model with less than 10k miles on it?

Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks! Hopefully I'll be getting one pretty soon!

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't answer any of your more technical questions, but I can say that I absolutely LOVE my '05. Plus, everyone knows the blue ones are faster!

Yes, there is a heat issue that (reportedly) was addressed in later models. Look back in the forum archives for the Cromiet heat fix and other mods to take care of most of that problem. That, plus wear your gear! The heat is worse through a thin layer of denim than it is through riding pants.