Any special considerations when bleeding ABS

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knnelg

Reaction score
Hi,

I've asked this same query in another forum, but in the interests of gathering a broad responce, I've also posted here.

I want to replace the brake fluid on my 05 ABS FJR.

I'm comfortable bleeding brakes, but I've never done an ABS system before. Is there any special procedures or gotcha's with ABS, or is it just the same as a non-ABS setup?

Regards,

Glenn

Hi,
I've asked this same query in another forum, but in the interests of gathering a broad responce, I've also posted here.

I want to replace the brake fluid on my 05 ABS FJR.

I'm comfortable bleeding brakes, but I've never done an ABS system before. Is there any special procedures or gotcha's with ABS, or is it just the same as a non-ABS setup?

Regards,

Glenn
Glenn,

I have replaced all the brake fluid in my 2005 ABS FJR. From my experience there was no special consideration to the fact this is an ABS system. I treated the replacement just the same as a non-ABS setup. About 15k miles later, no issues. I hope this helps! Cheers!

The manual says to use an SST to cycle the ABS pump so you get fluid moving through there. Last time I bled 'em, I skipped that step.

I follow up every bleed on Frank with an overnight full application of the brake levers, as in a bungee wrapped around the levers to fully apply them, hard as I can. This allows the last little bit of air to migrate up to the top, and upon release of the lever, it escapes into the reservoir. This has worked on every bike I've owned, with great success, as the lever is always harder and the feel improved over just a good bleed alone. FWIW
Good luck!

The manual says to use an SST to cycle the ABS pump so you get fluid moving through there. Last time I bled 'em, I skipped that step.