Bike alarm input please

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shane

Reaction score
All,

Searching here for "Gorilla" turned up preciious little, so here's a ?.

The Gorilla alarm is being advertised for around $70.00 lately, but the decibel rating, and stand-alone horn, do not impress on paper.

Here's a link to the one in question. online store

Any opinions?

Shane

All,
Searching here for "Gorilla" turned up preciious little, so here's a ?.

The Gorilla alarm is being advertised for around $70.00 lately, but the decibel rating, and stand-alone horn, do not impress on paper.

Here's a link to the one in question. online store

Any opinions?

Shane
I have no experience with the "Gorilla" so I can't be much help in your specific question.

I can help with my past and in what I am using.

First, I have never had an alarm on any bike until my GSXR. I never felt that my previous bikes, including the FJR, was in any danger of being taken. That was my "feeling" and a big equation in why we protect this stuff other than money.

Second on the GSXR since it is a sport bike and one of the highly stolen along with Harleys and since I work in a city right next to DC and theft around here of bikes and cars is high I wanted an alarm.

Now, we both know an alarm that sounds as loud as it may be no one pays attention to them today and good thieves can bypass them in matter of seconds. So what to do.

I wanted an alarm that would notify me because after all I am the only one who really cares about my bike.

Mine has a perimeter sensor that uses microwaves to detect movement.

It also has a tilt sensor so once it is moved it goes off.

It also has an ignition kill switch as many get their bikes stolen in person and as the thief drives off I can kill the ignition.