Bohn Adventure Pants - my review

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ctfjr

Reaction score
Prior to taking my recent cross country ride I purchased the Bohn Armor pants. I have ridden pretty much in jeans my whole riding life except for my 'rain pants' which are overpants I wear in the wet stuff or in below 40 degree temps. They are some sort of insulated, padded pants made up of the stuff that is supposed to melt into your skin in the case of a slide :(

I decided that the Bohn pants were a good economic alternative to the matching Cycleport mesh jeans to my Cycleport jacket. So I sent in my $$$ and about a week later they showed up.

Ok, I admit I'm only an electrical engineer not a mechanical, but damn it took me almost 1/2 an hour to fit the various armor pieces into their 'pockets' of the lycra long johns. The 'pants' are actually a lycra material that stretches snugly over this svelt body (5'11", 240 lbs). My wife was the first to comment on my new 'outfit' - no picture would do it justice so I think I will just skip the imagery.

The 'armor' is a flexible semi-rigid foam material that is designed to protect your various body parts:

2 each for the knee/shin areas, thigh and hips and one piece for your tailbone.

The pants are meant to be worn under your regular riding pants (in my case jeans), you won't even know they are on. The manufacturer claims you can wear then all day under whatever pants you are wearing. They also claim, "I can tell you from personal experience (it's often over 110F here in No. Cal.) that the breathable lycra is comfortable in the heat and really does not make any difference to riding comfort on those hot and humid days."

OK, my experience - 9000 miles, 13 days riding