Book reviews of Total Control and Smooth Riding

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

camera56

Reaction score
I know there are a number of book threads on this blog (a couple of very good ones actually). Allow me to add a couple more logs on the fire. I have recently completed two very long book reviews of two of my favorite technique books:

Smooth Riding by Reg Pridmore [clicky]

Total Control by Lee Parks [clicky]

The latter book has gotten lots of good attention, and caveat emptor, I am a certified Lee Parks instructor.

Here are some snips fro my reviews, first from Total Control . . .

The heart of this book, at least in my opinion, is Lee's approach to Body Positioning.

If you have no experience with “hanging off” the bike, read this chapter more than once. It’s an eye opener. That thing you may have seen racers do on TV is something that all riders need to know how to do. I’ve seen guys do it on dirt bikes (on the road) and Harleys.

The basic idea is to get your mass inside the centerline of the bike before and while it’s leaning over. Not to worry. Unless you chop the throttle closed and coast to a halt, nothing bad is going to happen. Only good stuff actually.

Lee describes ten steps. It feels like a lot to remember when you’re reading it, but with just a bit of practice, it comes naturally.

1. Reposition the foot (get your toes out of the way so you don’t scrape them). On a cruiser, this isn’t important.

2. Pre-position the body. This is where the action is. Get at least your upper body inside the vertical centerline of the bike. If you’re riding a standard or sport bike, get a lot more than that over to the inside (looking at pictures helps right about now).