Bug Cleaners

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdisher

formerly Renegade, get used to it.
Reaction score
(OK, I looked at the options and this seemed to be the best fit, if not please move).

And I did search but didn't find a thread.

Yes, we all know a clean bike is a ghey bike. But that being the case, once in a while you do need or want to reduce the weight you're carrying and improve your aerodynamics by removing bug guts that increase the drag on your bike ;)

Hydrogen Peroxide, diluted (I used 3%) in a squirt bottle because that's all I had, really breaks down the bug guts well. Just squirt liberally, let the peroxide eat away for a minute or two and wipe clean.

If this is a bad idea and I'm not aware of it please speak up.

-MD

Yeah, I'm new to that, too.

I had a couple forum members email me about the peroxide and how well it works on bugs. Oh sure, I was skeptical. First used it on the Wing after a 1,200 mile trip. REALLY nasty windshield... well the whole front of the bike.

Only wish someone would have told me about this 30 years ago. It's amazing how that stuff just foams up and disolves the bugs.

I mix mine about 50/50 with water in a spray bottle. Magic stuff! :yahoo:

Take your wife's best bath towel, soak it in hot water and lay over the buggage. Let stand for 10 mins and wipe the guts off. Go to the store and pick up a dozen roses to hand the missus after you hand her back the towel.

Since it's gentle enough to use on open wounds, I can't see where it would hurt plastic and metal. That stuff was highly recommended in an earlier thread for cleaning radiators. I put that thought aside for love-bug season!