Custom Garmin GPS Mount

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fjrshanta

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been enjoying the information on this forum for a few months now and have recently become a member. I purchased a new FJR a little over a month ago and have started to add some farkleage. The first for me was to mount my Garmin GPS on my new ride but didn't like any of the available mounts so, I made my own.

One of the things you might note is the hex bolt with the black center. I wanted to find a great looking socket head cap screw but had no luck locally for that thread pitch so I got this one from the junk bin and filled the center with black paint. It looks ok but I will upgrade it if I find a good one later. The bracket is sandblasted .250 AL and a piece of 45deg cut barrel stock. The base mount is attached with Garmin's permanent adhesive disk. Despite the idea of "sticking" the base on, the bracket and base have not moved and been incredibly stable for about 2000 miles so far! :yahoo:

I hope you find the photos useful. :)

FJRshanta

P1050733.jpg

P1050734.jpg

P1050735.jpg

P1050736.jpg

P1050737.jpg

P1050738.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice Job being resourceful. Looks like you know what you are doing. I wish I could do such things. Anyways...welcome!

I had mine hooked up similar to that and I found that every time I hit a bump the GPS would rotate down in its mount. I found that that mount works great in a cage, but not so great on a bike.

I then went to a stem mount set-up.

I hope it works good for you.

FJRSHANTA,

Try McMaster Carr for finding the right screws for just about anything, they have a huge selection and their website is easy to use too:

LINK

-FJR Jon