Do I have a tumor?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bungie

FrostBack #2 - IBA # 44620
Reaction score
I've been riding with an HJC CL-SP Animus now for about 3 years. In typical HJC fashion, the shell is on the large side and the helmet lets in a LOT of air on the sides. This worked out for me as I've got speakers mounted in the ear cavities so I lived with it.

At the start of the season last year, I ordered a set of +10mm cheek pads from New Enough, that took care of the side to side looseness and life was good.

This year I went on a couple of all day rides with no problems at all. Then I went on a short ride (a couple of hundred K's) and had a noticable hot spot across the top of my forehead. It was damn excruciating! Pull off the helmet and I've got a big red mark across the top of my noggin'. CFR was coming up and the thought of dealing with a bad fitting helmet scared the bejeebuz out of me. It was no time to buy a new helmet and take my chances. So, I ordered in a new liner for it thinking maybe it just had enough of me. The new liner made the helmet feel great!

Rode from Sudbury to Wisconsin, and back in 2 days. No hotspot. Life is good.

Then yesterday I did another day ride. Hotspot is back! What the HELL! How can this be?! I tried wearing the helmet 'up' with the chin bar about an inch higher than normal. Same thing, I tried it in the down position. Same thing. Of course, once your dealing with a hotspot, any pressure afterwards will be magnified as its already angry at you.

Has anybody experienced this.. 'intermittent' hot spots?

Hi Bungie!

...hotspot...
You and the Mrs. getting along OK?

:lol: