Down Force from over size windshield

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

racer157

Reaction score
Being an ex-road racer I am sensitive to the way my bikes handle. Being a mechanic I tend to try to make all of them as good as I can. I love my 2005 fjr but noticed on occasion that when I increase my speed with my windshield in the raised position the steering gets heavier. With the windshield all the way up I find the front end pushing (not wanting to turn) as I lean the bike farther and farther over at speeds above 70. I know, don't speed; but on a FJR I occasionally go a little faster than I should. If I lower the screen there is no problem. On our run last week end which was great by the way, I was offered a stock windshield to try out. I look forward to trying a stock screen, since I have never had one ( this is the burned FJR that I am driving). I mention this because I feel this might pose a problem with other riders too if they are not aware of this. The windshield is after all acting like a front spoiler on a race car. My screen is slightly wider and 4 inches taller that stock according to the seller on e-bay. Have any of you felt this on your bikes?

Well I said I would get back to you all when I was a ble to make more tests. Here are my conclusions: With my over size windsheild installed I found the bike to be hard to ride at speeds over 60 mph in turns with the windsheild raised. With the sheild up the front end wanted to push me to the outside of the turn. If I lowered the sheild to the down position the bike was ok. I now have a stock windsheild on my bike and I am very happy. No loss of control is apparent up to speeds over 90 in the same turns and the bike again feels great. Raising and lowering the sheild in a turn doesn't create the steering problem.

Last edited by a moderator: