FJR Auto

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigArn

Reaction score
I would like some input on the FJR1300AE. How easy is it to get use to. I've been ridding for over 30 years. Now I'm thinking of getting one of these.

Thanks for your help

Mark

Last edited by a moderator:
It's NOT an "Auto".

Yes, you will get used to it. Lots of owners of the AE love them. Some owners of the AE haven't been all that enamored by the technology. Unfortunately, me thinks you have to get one yourself, put some miles on getting to know it and adjust to it, before you truly know if it's for you or not.

I have had both types.

I love my new AE and woukd

not go back. Had no problems

adjusting to it, and have had

none of the problems others

have had.

I have an '06 AE with 5,750 miles on it, all of it local. I sort of sit on the fence on this one (A vs AE). When started cold it moves off of a dead stop with all of the grace and dignity of a 1950 Buick Dynaflow. Any of you old boys remember those? After it has warmed up it does much better. I have the tool (jumper) required to fiddle with the clutch engage RMP, but haven't had time to fool with it - maybe a good thing. Basically I like the mindless clutchless upshifting and ability to execute a clutchless downshift. For getting away from a dead stop, I think I would prefer a conventional clutch. Bottom line - I would buy another AE.

Dick Frederick

I just went over 15,000 miles on my AE and I LOVE IT :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: !

As far as launching from first gear, it is just a matter of getting use to it and then it is smooth.

My 2003 HONDA GL1800's first gear still scares the hell out of me every now and then because of how "jittery" it is and I have NEVER felt that way with the AE.

Best Regards,

Shane

as I posted before

people fear change

but

change is good

AE is good.