FJR Tail Chop

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scotty

Reaction score
With all that license plate, fender, reflectors, etc, has anyone chopped the tail and neatened up the license plate area? Anyone make a kit?

No kits that I know of, like I'm an expert. Click here for one man's story.

I you ride in the rain, everything on the back's gonna get really nasty. Top case, SO, whatever. Be prepared for the consequences.

I have chopped the tail up a little to just behind the license plate.

Like Walter said if you ride in the rain everything gets nasty dirty but it does make tire changes easier.

Good luck.

I did some minor modding to mine. I took off the reflectors near the plate and cut the bottom reflector off. I added on the helmet guardian, Hyperlites, and reflective tape to the side bags. I do get some spray on the tail lights in rain.

fjrrrr042.jpg

I did some minor modding to mine. I took off the reflectors near the plate and cut the bottom reflector off. I added on the helmet guardian, Hyperlites, and reflective tape to the side bags. I do get some spray on the tail lights in rain.
fjrrrr042.jpg
Mine is cut up higher to the bottom lip of the license plate.

Looks good and if it is really raining even with a fender side splash, truck splash is going to be a mess(however I love the FJR in the rain with right technical gear,Sidis etc)

I bought my bike from a forum member here and he had the fender already chopped, in fact he bought a new fender, worked on it and then mounted it on the bike.

A lot of work IMHO....

Fender.jpg

There 's always the option of installing a hugger to address the spray issue...

There 's always the option of installing a hugger to address the spray issue...
Actually, no, that's incorrect.