Garmin freeze up

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattster31

Reaction score
So I've been using my 2820 (I bought from a forum member) for a few months now and love it. I was out on a 200km ride last night with some buddies and the thing starts shutting off and re-starting! continually...........as soon as I press "accept" the map comes up with my current location, the screen freezes, and it shuts off and does it all over again. I stopped and thought perhaps there might have been a wiring issue (no). So I turn it off and continue the ride. I was using it not just for direction but listening to some tunes. Turns out that it did not like the "Beatles" "Get back". Once I was home I managed to quickly press "stop" on the mp3 before the screen would freeze and the problem went away. WTF???? I did a search and did not find anything similar. Who has had this happen?? Can an mp3 file bugger your Garmin that easily??

I will no longer play "Beatles" on my Garmin........I will no longer play "Beatles" on my Garmin..............

Hi Matt!

My guess your plug in the back is either dirty or needed to be reseated. My 2730 (I think has the same plug) was flipping on and off one day after a few miles out, I pushed the plug and it moved a couple of microns and reseated and everything was fine after that. Must have been not making perfect contact.