Garmin, TomTom

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This week it would be the Zumo 550. After perhaps two more firmware updates the Zumo 660 may pull ahead for some because of some of the newer nav features. Besides, there's a reason why Garmin charges more for the 550 than the 660 . . . .

But until Garmin addresses some very serious faults, I'd suggest staying away from the 660.

Another bike-friendly option could be the Nuvi 500 series, if you don't need Bluetooth and such. Then there's the GPSMAP 276c/378/478 and 640 to consider, especially if you happen to own a boat.

I have no personal experience with the TT Rider-2, but I've heard others complain about a non-intuitive interface and quality issues with that model.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a Garmin and have had issues that were solved better than expected. As far as customer service Garmin has had more good press on the net then Rider. That in itself makes me want to continue to use Garmin. I have no experience with TomTom but I believe a gentleman I ride with just purchased one for his truck.

No experience with the TT either but have been loving my Zumo 550 for the last couple of years. No complaints, no problems with the core functions. Love that it syncs via bluetooth to my Blackberry not so that I can take calls on the bike but so at least I can screen them and see if I need to pull over to answer or reply to one. Also love the MP3 function and listen to my music when the spirit moves me.

I don't use the XM radio functions as I didn't want to spring for the antenna and the XM service (I use Sirius in my car). If it supported the XM NavWeather I would add it in a second. Unfortunately it doesn't...so I guess that would be my only complaint.

Ya call Garmin customer service, you talk to someone in the US -