GPS Lifespan?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big-D

Reaction score
I've been using my Garmin GPS for about 3 1/2 years. Never had any problems with it, used it in my cars and my bikes. Even got caught in the rain a time or two and it kept working after it got wet. Like anything, after a while you get so accustomed to technology, it's like becoming addicted. GPS' are great, not only did I use mine for basic mapping out my destinations, but I also used the 8gb card for my music, located restaurants, gas stations and even a store I might have been looking for in an area I was not familiar with. Mine told me how many miles I had covered, how many more I had yet to go and even what time I would arrive if I kept the same pace.

Now today I'm loading three different routes I could take to Taos for the SW-FOG and while I'm doing that, the damn thing just quit working, screen went black and it died. I tried two different power adapters and the two different ways to power it up and nothing worked.

Maps? Yeah I have a couple road atlases, but they take up too much room on a bike. I also have one of those Rand McNally maps that are plastic coated and easy to fold up for all of the Western states, so I'm still good to go with the SW-FOG. And having lived in New Mexico for over five years I know how to get to most cities and the more direct main routes. I think I'm just sharing this because I'm pissed off because these things always happen at the worst opportune time. I am leaving on Tuesday morning for Taos and I normally buy my stuff online, so I don't have time to get a new replacement in time. And now beemerDon is going to rag my ass over this anyway.

So, now that I'm done ranting, what is the lifespan of your GPS? Is it like the energizer bunny that just keeps on ticking or have you had a GPS up & die for no apparent reason?