GPS question

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

palerider

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm just beginning to think about getting a GPS for my 06AE, and I read in the blurb for the Centech AP2 that a GPS should be connected unswitched because it needs to stay on all the time. Is it true? I hate the thought of leaving a constant drain on my battery.

I can't speak to the model you specified, only in general terms. My Zumo is powered up with the ignition.

On the Zumo, I often press YES to Continue On Battery Power, whenever I'm going in for a quick stop, bite to eat etc. It avoids the wait time for a restart, remap, reload of MP3s, re.... you get the picture.

I've had my GPS wired both ways. I find it extremely frustrating to have it switched. Especially on long trips where I'm using the GPS to record mission info on elapsed time and track. Having to start it up after every gas stop is a pain for me. I recommend direct to the battery.

I've had my GPS wired both ways. I find it extremely frustrating to have it switched. Especially on long trips where I'm using the GPS to record mission info on elapsed time and track. Having to start it up after every gas stop is a pain for me. I recommend direct to the battery.
Thanks, all. What I'm getting from this is that it wants to be on all the time during a trip but it can be off if garaged for extended periods. Does that sound about right?

Thanks, all. What I'm getting from this is that it wants to be on all the time during a trip but it can be off if garaged for extended periods. Does that sound about right?
Yes.

You simply turn off the switch (for the GPS) when you don't want it on.

Last edited by a moderator:
I believe with the Zumo, the power management is different pending which cradle it is in.