GPS, Worth the $$$ or not?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fjrb0

Reaction score
Is it Friday yet?

Been thinking about GPS. I've never been a big fan of GPS, but can see where they would be helpful in some situations. What I love to do is read maps, here at home on the throne, and find roads that look good, then go ride them. I use Microsoft Street and Trips for route planning, but do not always follow the routes once I get to the general area. I love to find a new road I haven't ridden before and ride it. But I'll admit I am a noob on the GPS tech. I guess you could say I'm still on analog on maps.

So, some questions. Will a GPS like Zumo 550 allow me to "ad-lib" a route on the road, like create the route on the GPS on the road, or do I have to use the computer to create the route and then download? Can I use the MS software for the route planning then load it to the 550,or do I have to use some proprietary software from Garmin?

Do I really need a MC ready GPS, or could I just put a car GPS in my tank bag and look at it after I get "lost" (so far, whereever I went, there I was, but never lost!).

What else do I need to know before I go sink $$$ into this? :headbonk: