Heated clothing connections

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harald

"Superior Gen 4" Rider
FJR Supporter
Reaction score
Rather than highjack the heated clothing thread going on, I thought I'd start a seperate thread dealing with just the connections. I just ordered a Aerostitch Darien jacket and have the choice of SAE, BMW or Quick connect (coax). I like the idea of a panel mount jack to plug into, so that narrows it down to BMW or coax. Is there any compelling reason to go with one or the other? Sounds like the BMW is more water proof, but is there a downside to the BMW connections?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts. I've been riding for many years, but have never used heated clothing even when riding in 10degree weather in north Georgia in my younger years.

$5.00 -- clickable pic. RV roof mount SAE connector, can be weather tight.
I guess that'll work for a SAE connection, but man is that thing huge! Where would you mount it (assuming you also wanted to mount heated grips controllers, etc)? The BMW jacks I've seen have a little spring loaded cap and are a fraction of the diameter of that SAE plug.

I've used the BMW mount with a panel mount Heat Troller for a coupla years now. They work great - no problems of any kind.

The set up is small, unobtrusive and professional in appearance. [ left side panel ]

The Heat Troller is expensive , but well worth the money . Set your temp and forget it and only use the electrical power needed to power the heat level you're actually using - nice if you're powering several things at once.

I'm partial to a BMW plug (Jastek). Besides the compactness of the connector type, it's also got a nice spring-loaded cap, a positive click, and a nice metal-to-metal surface area with copper to copper.