Kool Vest / Wet Vest

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phil

Reaction score
A couple of threads this week have mentioned the Kool Vest for summer riding. I have no experience with this, and a quick search on internet shows a lot of brands, including those that dunk in water, and some that utilize freezer-packs. I must assume that for bikers, the dunk-and-ride is the only viable mode. But what about best brands or styles . . . any recommendations?

So you want everyone to post their favorite brand?

I currently use a MiraCool vestand bandana. The vest will stay hydrated, thus cooling me, for 6 hours or more in 100+ degree riding.

I used to wear another brand that looks like the Joe Rocket Sahara vest, but I found that it would dry out in about 1 1/2-2 hours.

You might also want to check this, from our friends at Google: cool vest site:fjrforum.com

Last edited by a moderator:
I followed in the footsteps of Madmike2. I did have a Joe Rocket and would consider using it again for shorter rides, but the MiraCool just holds so much water that it remained functional by dunking once or twice a day during the Iron Butt Rally.

For an Eastern Oregon ride last summer I picked up a "TechNiche Deluxe Evaporative Cooling Vest" from Sound Rider (clicky)

I wore one of those wicking t-shirts, the cooling vest soaked in water, and a Joe Rocket Phoenix mesh jacket. The vest soaks up a bunch of water and kept me cool in the 110 F heat of the high desert. :red_bandana: It saved my bacon - there's no way I'd have enjoyed the ride without it. I highly recommend one of these cooling vests. They really work.