need new skid lid

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lnewlf

Reaction score
need a new brain bucket to match my 06 and I'm considering a Shoei x 11. I've had three Arai lids and they all whistle..How do the RF1000 and X11 compare and where is the best price available?

Last edited by a moderator:
I have loved my X-11. I have no experience with the RF-1000.

The X-11 is probably the best venting helmet on the market, so it is great for warmer temps. But on any helmet, more venting generally equals more noise, so it is a noisy helmet. Now I wear earplugs as I do with ANY and EVERY helmet (as EVERYONE should do) so the noise is a non-issue.

Recently, I also purchased the new Shoei Multi-tec (flip) helmet and really like that one too for my long distance riding. And as a bonus, the shields are the same for both helmets.

Some of this has been hashed before, but, love the X 11 much more than the multitec. Much quieter and lighter, the 411.com source is fantastic plus free shipping. One feature that has had little discussion is the removable liner in the X 11, which will be nice when it warms up again and your lid starts to smell like your old football helmet.

Save your $$ and get a Scorpion. Quiet, comfortble and good airflow. Got my EXO700 online for $150. As comfortable as my Arai Quantum and easier shield change.

Steve

Love my X-11 (my last lid was an Arai Quantum II). There are quieter helmets available, however, none that are as comfortable and well ventilated....IMHO.

I have an X-11 And agree it is the most vented helmet

I have owned. It is not Quiet, but the ventalation is great.

Here in Arizona the air movement is important, Got mine at Cycle

Gear with an additional 15% off coupon. They have a 7 day trial

on helmets.

6sgrvjl.jpg