Performance mods;

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

painman

Reaction score
Since I'm new to the sport bike game but have been involved in motorcycling for quite some time, my question is has anyone done any type of engine modifications or upgrades to the FJR? I know most would say that the FJR needs no power increases, but just curious about anyone doing increased cams or injectors or valve/head work on the FJR? I searched and found no info on this subject. I've read on exhaust and airbox improvments but no engine work. Are there parts in existance as in cams or heads available in the aftermarket or Yamaha? Anyone done or heard of this? Painman. <><

I'd imagine the factory has things pretty well optomized, other than how they're hamstrung by EPA. You could do a PCIII, header & mufflers, maybe even find a turbo & nitrous somehere. Never heard of aftermarket internals for this bike.

You're not trolling, are you?

Well, there's always NOX. Probably cheaper and easier than tearing the engine down. Wither way, you'd probably destroy any warranty. Maybe you should ride it first.... :rolleyes: I would think that if you want to emulate a GXR 1000, the first thing you could do is remove some weight and upgrade the suspension, change the brakes to handle any new acceleration....then think about adding cams, etc. I'd imagine it would take cubic dollars to gain any appreciable performance. I know of one owner who has done some engine work, but he has a friend who owns a raceing shop and is not specific about what they did to the engine. I couldn't catch him in Idaho, but I'm not nearly the capable rider he is (he's an ex-racer).

Hee-hee! TC and I were typing at the same time. :bleh:

Last edited by a moderator: