PIAA 1100X Mounting Options

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SockMonkey

Makin' Some Noise
Reaction score
I'm considering purchasing the PIAA 1100X driving lights (decided against the HID route...) and have a couple of questions on various mounting options:

1) Advantages/disadvantages of mounting driving lights high (Rex M/C mirror brackets), or low (PIAA 1100X Multi-Fit). I think I understand the theory of one vs. the other, but am more interested in people's practical experience;

2) Gen I FJR mirror base shape vs. Gen I FZ1 mirror base shape. I have the Gen I FZ1 mirrors on my '07 FJR. It looks like the Rex M/C mirror mount light brackets are designed for the Gen I FJR mirrors. I'm wondering whether they'd look like ass mounted under the Gen I FZ1 mirrors(?)

Thanks!

although I have no personal experience with the particular mount options, I would recommend for best lighting, that you choose the one that mounts as high as possible.

I bought the PIAA 1100x lights last year and simply took the lazy route of mounting them low on the front fender bolts of my 05. Very much like the pictures in the link you sent. I was worried about the security of the lights there, but after a few thousand miles like that, I didn't have a problem and can adjust them low so I run them all the time and don't worry about being in rear view mirrors all the time.

I will say that they still leave me wanting for more light on really dark roads. I want a Soltek light up high for night driving, but have to cool the farkle purchases for a few months.