question if you also ride a sportbike

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smackdab949

Reaction score
I have always been curious to see what a sportbike was like, but have only had cruisers and the 2005 FJR ;-)

A few weeks ago I rented an '06 R6. It was a blast. Seemed faster, but it was probably just engine noise and the fact that you are hanging out in space as you ride the beast...I stayed in 2nd gear up Palomar (CA), but I am still a beginner ;-)

Now I know my FJR isn't a sportbike, but I wondered why the steering on the R6 felt so much more stable than the FJR. The FJR has a fork-brace and I have the suspension setup rarther hard (there was an article in sport rider mag I believe).

Basically, when I remove my hands from the R6, it feels rock stable, but not the FJR. Another example is on a sharp curve: the initial turn (counter steer) until the exit of the turn...it feels like 1 motion on the R6. And I don't think it is just bike weight, but again I am not that experienced...

I had a problem on the FJR fork-brace coming loose and it was scarry to ride...That was months ago, but I maybe never got over it. Could something be out of wack from it?

Now on the FJR, the initial turn (counter steer) is quick as everyone who owns one knows, but the reset doesn't feel as stable. Yes I know it is twice as heavy, but once it is on its line that is what doesn't feel as right...

Is it the weight or shaft drive or sport-tour front-end geometry that affects this?

Does it sound like I am crazy (this is what I am leaning towards ;-)

Not a very clear question, but if you ride a sport-bike in the twisties, how does the FJR compare and have you done anything to the FJR or do you have both types of bikes for each purpose...