Scored a 2720 on eBay for $137

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wfooshee

O, Woe is me!!
Reaction score
My 2610 has done a couple of flaky things in the last couple of months, namely not acquiring satellites once in a while. It finally started working again after I did a master reset some weeks ago, but it still refuses to acquire once in a while. Power cycling fixes it now, don't need another master reset. Basically, if I go to the GPS info page and no bars are showing when it says "acquiring," I just turn it off and back on, and it's good to go. Wasn't like that back in May, spent all afternoon trying to get it to go before giving up and doing the master reset.

So anyway, been watching eBay for a newer model, but still a StreetPilot, so I wouldn't have to get a new mount, new cable, all that crap. I was really trying to find a 2820 to get Bluetooth, but they're rather scarce. Only one I saw recently was the unit only, no accessories, and untested. No, thanks.

Anyway, put a ridiculous max bid of 139 on this 2720 on Friday, when it was already 132 with a half hour left, and I got it! I had the thing shipped to work and it arrived today. I went through the menus and reset every setting and recorded piece of information, mounted it on the bracket already on the bike for my 2610, waited for 20 minutes for it to actually acquire a fix, and when I got home, this was the trip computer screen:

MaxSpeed2720.jpg

My 2610 had been sitting at 293 mph for several months before the master reset. Getting SR-71 speed is . . . . satisfying. That Reset Max button is never going to be touched.

I remember a max speed "contest" thread from a couple of years ago, could not find it.