Stayin' warm

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wanderer

Reaction score
With winter just around the corner here in the Rockies I'm looking to supplement my riding gear, specifically in the jacket department. I have 200$ to spend. Right now I have a TourMaster 'Intake' jacket, the mesh one with the 2 removable rain and quilted liners indside. I really love it but its my only jacket and I'm primarily concerned with staying comfy in the most varied weather. This includes the heat of summer visiting family in the desert SW.

Here are some options I'm kicking around...which gets the most bang for my bucks?

1) buy a nice textile jacket. I'm eyeballing the TM transition II, the Fieldsheer Adventure,or a Firstgear Jaunt. all found for 130-200.

2) buy a nice heated liner and wear it under my current jacket.

3) search the net relentlessly and pray to find them both used/closeout for 100$ apiece?

Even though I live in CO, I don't tend to ride when its super cold, I'd say upper 30's is my absolute limit. I've been known to ride well into triple digit temps, but I have the mesh already. Right now I'm leaning towards option 2. Is this a bad plan? Anyone out there routinely wear a heated liner under a layered mesh jacket?

What I own is bionic body armor by Alpinestars. It's CE-rated, and I feel will provide good protection. And it's very near to my skin so I can throw on a larger hoody or jacket over it. Protection underneat, and whatever I need to stay warm over it.

My girlfriend has a small fitted jacket and does the same (throws an oversized jacket over it)

Alexi