suggestions for first big trip

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2wheelingdawg

R.I.P. Our Motorcycling Friend
Reaction score
I leave Wed for my first big trip on my FJR. I am also new to long distance riding. If anybody has any suggestions for riding or sights to see, i would appreciate it. My route is planned pretty simple. leave Atlanta on Wed after work, camp out in N Ga at TWO. On Thursday am ride to Cherokee, Nc, pick up the blue ridge pkwy and head north. I found a bike campground in Va right off the blue ridge. Camp thursday night in Va. On friday am, finish blueridge and head west over to northern WV. then turn south down us 219 toward Lewisburg, and arrive at mom's house on Friday evening. Spend the weekend in WV and leave early Monday am and slab it back home to Atlanta.

2Wheelingd,

I'm planning on a ride not too far off from yours for EOM next month. I've been in those areas with a car and enjoyed it very much. I'd have to agree with the above - prepare for rain. It would be a bad idea to join up on the FJR assitance list sponsered by J.R. on this site. Never hurts to have an FJR friend not too far away to help a buddy in need.

Herkypilot