SW Motech Mirror Extenders Do the Job?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azokie

Reaction score
Anyone have experience with the SW Motech mirror extenders on their 2014 FJR? The extenders appear to move the mirrors up and a little out but it looks to me like the extenders would not help moving the mirrors outside my shoulders. Anyone have actual experience they can share about the SW Motech mirror extenders?

Hi John,

Go to the "FJR Forum" tab and do a search for "Motech extenders" and you will get a whole slew of past discussion on this.

I've been using these mirror extenders on my '07 for a couple of years now. I think they're great. I can still see my elbows in the mirrors

but they only block the lower inboard corners now making the mirrors much more functional.. The extenders are well made, install easily and

don't alter the appearance of the bike.

They will do the job. However, it is a crude way to do it. FZ1 mirrors will do the job right, and you'll wonder why you waited so long.

Buy OEM Gen FZ1 mirrors. Not the cheap knock offs.

I've looked at the FZ1 mirrors and it appears that they are the same as the FZ6's (or darn close). Has anyone tried them?? They seem to be more available on fleabay as well.

The SW Motech spacers do not move the mirror heads out nearly enough for me. Some people are just fine with the stock mirror view (I was not) so that just goes to show that opinions will vary greatly.

Be careful buying mirrors on eBay. Mostly what you'll find there are the cheap knock offs (like Emgo brand) which many folks have been dissatisfied with.