Tomahawk tires

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trimmantom

Reaction score
I saw some of these on e-bay and was wondering if any of the members have tried these tires and what their opinion are of them.

I read a review and comparison and they were rated fairly well. The cost savings was quite substantial.

If anyone has an opinoin please post.

I saw some of these on e-bay and was wondering if any of the members have tried these tires and what their opinion are of them.I read a review and comparison and they were rated fairly well. The cost savings was quite substantial.

If anyone has an opinoin please post.
If you want to put retreads on your bike, go ahead. Not me.

Had a buddy tell me when I started riding, never skimp on helmets and tires. Just shell out for a good tire, it is your lifeline to the road.

I have ridden on a set of them on my uncle's old Superhawk. Now, for what they were, they were decent. They seemed to heat up quickly and hold it well. However, pick up say a 180/55 Tomahawk and then something like a Battlax 021 or comperable tire and FEEL the weight difference. I would almost bet that it is easily a 5-7 # difference. Now to me they also LOOK a lot bigger or fatter or something like that. There was just something about them that didn't seem to see/feel right to me. But I haven't ridden on any of the new ones seeing as how I am a Bridgestone kinda guy ;) That's my .02 at least