Westone CR-1 Mini-Review

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fhaze

Reaction score
Ever since I started riding a street bike, I have been plagued with an issue most of us encounter: How to enjoy hi fidelity music on the bike and cut down on the wind noise from the helmet.

I have an Autocom setup that I run my Zumo and Passport into, then I Bluetooth my Blackberry to the Zump (not to talk, but to see who is calling to determine if I need to call them back sooner rather than later.) This setup works, but the provided helmet speakers only sounded decent without any earplugs in, and to overcome any wind noise I would need to increase volume to a point that was waay too loud for practical purposes. I started experimenting using the foam earplugs to attenuate the noise. This worked OK, but it was too muffled and I had to really crank up the tunes and the fidelity was awful. I knew there must be a better way, so I began research.

I soon discovered that there was a solution to my problem: Custom Molded In-Ear Monitors. Nirvana!...but they are expensive. I saved up a few dollars and bit the bullet. I went to local audiologist and had pink goop crammed into my ears, and then 2 weeks later they arrived.

https://www.westone.com/content/221.html

The call came today, and was so excited I jumped on the bike in shorts and sneakers. I paid the guy, and fitted them in my ear holes and plugged everything in.

Fit was awesome, as you would expect from a custom mold, The rated sound reduction is 25db. This is a good rating IMO because you can still hear stuff around you. Unlike the 33-35 db foamies I was using that blocked out all sound pretty much.