Wilbers vs. Ohlins

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GunMD

Reaction score
I'm planning to purchase a rear shock and front springs for my 2005 non-abs FJR. I'm looking at the Wilbers and the Ohlins. Can anyone speak intelligently as to the pros and cons of each (specifically as they relate to the FJR...I could care less how the Ohlins you put on your GSXR track bike feels).

I'll be installing a Penske 8981 once Penske builds it and runs it on the shock dyno.

I have one on my Bandit 1200. I have no experience with Ohlins or Wilbers, but I imagine all three are very close in performance, and that is to say...amazing.

I was going to go with Works because they are local but got in on the GB on the Wilbers.

I haven't heard of any problems with any of the name brands, I'd say compair price, time to get it and support.

I think any aftermarket shock will be an improvement over the stocker. I'm quite happy with my Wilburs shock right now, but wouldn't hesitate to install an Ohlins or Penske shock on my bikes. I think unless your going to be road racing, doing serious track days, or other such things that will really be taxing your suspension you'll be fine with any of them. So in short, get what gives you a warm fuzzy feeling at the end of the day.

From what I understand, all three of them are built to order shocks (or can be) if that's a concern of yours.

Right now I'm looking at new suspension for my CBR954 and I'm looking at Ohlins front springs and a Penske rear shock. I would like Ohlins all around, but the shock is $300 more, and I dont know if I can justify if for the sake of saying I have a full Ohlins suspension system