bluetooth testing

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fencer

Why yes, I am a Smart ASS
Reaction score
I have been looking for a bluetooth intercom and have decided to try the Blueant interphone. Testing cost $260

I have been using the Scala Rider ($100 Price has gone up since purchase)for several months now and have been quite happy with it, but bear in mind this test is not apples to apples. The Rider is NOT the TEAMSET - Cardo's bluetooth intercom.

The scala rider is a mono speaker and I use it to listen to music through my Garmin 2820. I do use the two speaker (there ais a one and two speaker version) version, but it is still mono, which really would not matter cause the 2820 broadcasts in mono so a stereo reciever is pointless.

As the two compare speaker wise. the interphone has the better quality speaker but it is only one speaker. The music from the garmin comes in clear. BUT, and this is a drawback for me and it may be a limitation of the Garmin, It will ony play to one interphone at a time and not at all when in intercom mode. I am under the impression that the TeamSET will play through both , but this is not confirmed.

BUELLER??

The intercom is pretty clear and have walked away from each other to about 50 feet through the walls of the house. As advertised it is supposed to be good to 490 feet for bike to bike. Small background hiss

The Rider is great for phone use on the bike. I have had conversations at 80+ and the other end had no idea I was on a bike.

I have not yet been able to pair the interphone with my Sony W300i. I have a email to their tech support to try to rectify this. Which may be a problem as MY phone is not listed on the compatability list.

I will report more when I have more to report.

I would love to find a teamset owner and swap for a while, or just compare notes

Knifemaker?