BT-021 Tire Noise

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

varkdriver

Reaction score
I'm new to the FJR1300 and new to the forum and have a very distracting noise I am trying to figure out. I get a very distinct "roaring" sound coming from the lower front of my 08 FJR that starts at about 10mph and gets louder until the wind noise overcomes it. Even with full face and ear plugs it is very easy to hear and does not sound like its coming from the engine. I suspect its tire noise from the the BT-021 front tire, but have no experience with this tire. Anybody else notice this noise? All help is appreciated!

I'm new to the FJR1300 and new to the forum and have a very distracting noise I am trying to figure out. I get a very distinct "roaring" sound coming from the lower front of my 08 FJR that starts at about 10mph and gets louder until the wind noise overcomes it. Even with full face and ear plugs it is very easy to hear and does not sound like its coming from the engine. I suspect its tire noise from the the BT-021 front tire, but have no experience with this tire. Anybody else notice this noise? All help is appreciated!
uh huh...but it doesn't get much worse with wear. just fricking annoying...

my front ended up having a wicked 'turn in' after a while, but they are coming off shortly in favor of a set of Michelin Pilot Roads II

Last edited by a moderator:
+2 on BT-021 front tire noise.

In fact, the 021 front just sux -- just the opposite of the 021 rear (IMO).

I've got a Kawi C-14 spec 021 front ready to put on -- to see if it's any better? It has somewhat different specifications than either the generic 021 or FJR spec 021.

We'll see.... :unsure:

Yup... it's the tires. At freeway speeds I am constantly checking to ensure there is not a semi creeping up on me. Helluva roar. The OEM's will be my last set of 'stones.