Exhaust swap or modification?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Have you changed or modified the exhaust on your FJR?

• Yes, aftermarket

Votes: 30 45.5%
  • Yes, modified (Trooper, other)

Votes: 6 9.1%
  • No, but plan to

Votes: 5 7.6%
  • No, and don't plan to

Votes: 25 37.9%
  • I changed or modified, but went back to stock

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

creg-ny-baa

Reaction score
I'm newish (this spring) to the world of the FJR. Truth is, I've got no real issue with the restrained exhaust note. Quiet is good, especially for long distances. My background is mostly BMW, and (as many of you may know) that community isn't known for exhaust mods. Didn't stop me, as I had Staintune on my last two Beemers. I've ridden sportbikes, and it's almost a given that you'll put an aftermarket pipe or system on one of those, possibly to the detriment of performance. So, here on the forum, I've read of folks fitting TBR, CSOne, Leo Vince, Akrapovic, and others, along with the Trooper (and similar) modifications. My curiosity was to see what sort of percentage of the members had made an exhaust change. Please vote and comment away!

-

(Hopefully this doesn't end up in NEPRT, at least not too quickly...)

Last edited by a moderator:
No and don't plan to.

I can think of lots of things to spend money on that would give me more pleasure than an aftermarket exhaust.

Sounds fine stock and not trying to impress anyone.

If stock system was damaged I would probably go aftermarket to save money.

I had planned on keeping OEM pipes, but the Trooper mod sounded appealing for it's slightly throatier rumble and low cost. I didn't want to take a chance on my stock pipes, but a deal came around on premodded pipes so I jumped.