FJR a bit fat for the Dual Compound Front Tires??

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RenoJohn

Reaction score
Never have been shy about stating that I very much like the BT-021 Dual-Compound Tire. I pretty much said it all here (clicky)

Without question my favorite tire that I've used. However, like many (and a great overview IMO by Jeff A here clicky) the front would go away well before one would like it to ....and you could definately see the dual-compound at work ...and me re-thinking if a dual compund tire works well on the *FRONT* of the FJR.

I'm no tire expert, but do enough riding where I do care about what is holding my bike onto planet earth and IMO the FJR is a bit too obese for a dual compound tire in the front ....at least the BT-021.

I'm still in deep love with the rear BT-021 and feel the dual-compound works fantastic here and it gives a great compromise of great traction and descent mileage.

I will likey stay with the BT-021 rear and per Jeff's suggestion see how the Pirellia Diablo Strata works mates up with it as a front tire.

Here is a shot of the last three front BT-021's that I've taken off the old girl. You can see she beat them up pretty good and there is no doubt about where the dual-compound starts and stops. This is the most obvious on the very apparent riibs on the left tire.

Once the tire start getting to this point, there is no question that the great performance that they had when new is drasticly diministhed. In short, they go from Great to Poor as soon as it starts ...you can attempt to slow down the inevitable via your riding style ...but really, who wants to modify your riding to make a tire happy? Not me.

021FrontA.JPG

021FrontB.JPG

----------

BTW, not completley giving up on the dual compound tires ...mounted a pair of these up tonight and will give them a run over the weekend