Gen III Handling Question

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Apologies if this topic has been discussed before; I'm a newbie on this forum and with the FJR. I have been searching the forum but not seen this topic discussed.

First, the background: I've been riding for about 50 years, racing both on and off road, owned at least 40 bikes of all kinds except for cruisers, and instructed professionally in mainly car racing but also motorcycle riding for about 30 years.

About a month ago, I acquired a lightly used 1,900-mile 2014 FJR1300A after test riding only the bike that I bought so I have no comparison with other FJRs.

One of the impressions during the test ride was that the bike had a tendency to 'fall' into the turns as if the tire pressures were low. In other words, maintaining a steady line through a curve requires some pressure to be applied to the inside handlebar, actively counter-steering, in effect. After now riding the bike about 600 miles, the impression remains. The tire pressures were not low, and I have raised the pressures but the effect remains unchanged.

There is no difference right or left, although the effect lessens with stronger throttle application, in similar ways that many Ducatis handle at speed although the Ducati effect is much less pronounced than what I experience with the FJR.

My questions are if this cornering behavior is common with the FJR1300, could it be tire-related (my bike still has the OEM Bridgestones) or is it a problem with my specific bike?

Obviously, I'm asking the question because the behavior is unusual in my experience, although not particularly troubling.

First, be patient when posting. You double posted, but the admins will come along and clean it up shortly I am sure.