Help With Helmet Stereo

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjcin

Reaction score
I am not new to motorcycling, but I am new to the sport touring segment. After lurking here and some other places, I put a deposit on a new 2015 A model. I would like to buy 2 matching good quality helmets(Shoei or Arai) and be able to have 2 way communication between passenger and rider as well as some Pandora music. I am not a techy, just got my first smartphone 2 weeks ago, so be easy on me with your replies. Anything specific I should look for in a helmet? Thanks Tim C

Pick the helmet that fits best just make sure it has speaker pockets. Depending on budget buy a Sena 10S, 20S or SMH10 dual pack.

I use the SMH5-FM. It's cheaper than a SMH-10 and has nearly all the features as far as I can tell (a few differences do exist). You can also get dual packs of them for less than $190. A pair of SMH10's looks like another $40-$50. Depending on the helmets you'll be using look for the boom mic or the stick on mic. I use a stick on with my modular, but most use the boom. I have a boom, but never installed it.

https://www.amazon.com/Sena-SMH5D-02-Low-Profile-Motorcycle-Bluetooth/dp/B0087NB23Q/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1457652876&sr=8-3&keywords=smh5-fm+dual

https://www.amazon.com/Sena-SMH10D-10-Motorcycle-Bluetooth-Intercom/dp/B0087NAZM0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457652986&sr=8-1&keywords=smh10+dual

Thanks. Do those units need to be recharged after a days riding?

Yes I have forgotten a few times to charge my Sena SMH10 after a full day of riding while on tour, and it dies sometime into the next day. YMMV depending upon how much you use it. I listen to music all day while I am riding.