how to make the AE default to hand shift.....

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

85turbo

Reaction score
i hate that i have to select the hand shifter every time i turn the key on.

i want to be able to have it default to hand shift.

i had an idea this afternoon on how it might be acomplished.

with the hand shifter turned on, the foot shifter still works.

this means that if (in theory) if you tie into the wires from the foot shifter,and connect these to the hand shifter.

it should "default" to hand shift.

as the foot shifter on the AE is only a switch and is not directly linked to the trans, this should work.

im no electrical engineer, so i throw this out there for someone better at these things to have a look see.

anyone out there willing to see if this is do-able ?

jason

Mess with your bike first then let me know if it works :rolleyes:

I can't tell you how many times I've left a gas station without pushing that stupid button!!

i have almost finished this modification.

it took a little longer than i had hoped, and cost more than i expected it to,

but if it works, i will be happy.

if it does work (i have no reason to suspect it wont) ill post pics and info in the next few days.

it will be a black box mod with 4 wires coming from it.

1 for batt +

1 for GND

1 for IGN &

1 for the push button (AE) circuit.

if all goes as planned, i will post all relevant info for anyone to copy the design.

i will even consider building them for people if there's interest.

stay tuned.....

jason.

yes, that's what the proposed mod will do.

once i install it (hopefully this weekend) ill post on how it works.

it is basically a delayed timer built into a relay.

it waits 2 seconds from ign turn on, then energises the relay for 2 seconds.

then the relay drops out and stays out untill the ign is turned back on again.