Is Heart pacemaker compatible w/magnetic tank bag?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fjrboomer

Reaction score
I am considering getting a tank bag but I have a heart pacemaker. I cannot go through the magnetic devices at airports and must be hand searched. I do not know the strength of the magnets in tank bags but I do on occasion lean over the tank while riding. I would not want to change the mode my pacemaker is in while flying along the highway. I do use a magnet when doing telephone check ups on the pacemaker but the tech always confirms that it has returned to the proper mode before we hang up.

Therefore my question is does anyone have any experience or knowledge as to the possible affects of the magnets in the tank bag on a pacemaker if you get them too close to your pacemaker?

This is my first attempt at initiating a thread and I hope I have placed it in the proper catagory. If not I guess everyone can pile on next Friday or possibly sooner.

Good question boomer.

anybody? Old Micheal?, MM2?, wolfhound? Any old fuks out here??

I'd call my cardiologist but it's late an I'm pretty sure he wouldn't be impressed.

:jester:

BTW dog piles ain't jus for Fridays anymore. ;)

don't tuck in when flying yer FJR and don't hug yer bag when moving it around....

Seriously, I don't know about pacemakers but I know a little about magnets. Did the pacemaker come with a warning about how much gauss at what distance was dangerous? If not then it would be a guess at best.

Last edited by a moderator:
The magnets are pretty strong as magnets go. Unless your Dr. says OK (which I would be really surprised if he or she said yes) I wouldn't chance it. The last thing you need is for the ol'e ticker to skip a couple beats while you're leaning in through some twisties. :blink: Just my $.02