Is this a record?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maddog

Reaction score
Today I pulled my wheels for a tire change and the mileage on the tires (Avon Azaros) is 17579. The front still looks pretty good but will be replaced with my "free" Pirelli. The rear tire still has some rubber but is so squared off it feels squirrelly in corners.

Yes, yes, I know, I ride like a wimp. But most of my riding is commuting so I don't have many opportunities to get aggressive. For reference I got 14,000 miles out of the original Stones, and got a little less than 12,000 miles on the Metzler Z6 (the Metzlers sucked).

By the way I found a local independent shop that will mount and balance my Pirellis for $15 a wheel. I've never used them before so we'll see how good they are (all the dealers I called won't even mount a tire they didn't sell).

Any other wimpy riders with more miles on a set of tires?

Larry

I'm sure you're not the only 17lb rider to get that kinda mileage off a set of Von's, so quit with the braggin yo.

Don't know if it's a record... but it's damn impressive in any regard. :clapping:

So your bike has never seen more than about 5K RPM??

I can't imagine not whacking the throttle a few times on the way to work every day.

You have incredible discipline.

Radman - You forgot the 2 in front of the 17; and I'm not braggin I really would like to use the rubber a little faster. But I'm limited by my own skill level and lack of opportunity on the commute (both poor excuses, I know).

ohiofjr - They're miles. I'm sure.

MrVvrroomm - You are largely correct, I'm not using much of the bike's capability. However your suggestion that I could use a Ninja 250 sucks. My wife hates motorcycles and it was a hell of a fight to get the FJR. So I'm not going to have a fight like that and end up with a stinkin 250! ;)