New Bridgestone BT-021 tires

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Are these tires replacing the BT-020s? The tread pattern on the front tire is dramatically different.
Yes, these are the replacement tires for the venerable BT-020's.

I've been emailing some Bridgestone reps about them for a couple months now. One (of several) reasons for the change on the front tread pattern was due to the notorious scalloping that the front BT-020 is prone to develop. This tread pattern on the front BT-021 will significantly reduce this tendency:

BT021F.jpg

One of the consequences of this tread pattern, however, is that this front tire might be a touch "noisier" than the velvet-smooth BT-020 front tire. (Which is no big deal for many of us). I have liitle doubt the tire will handle and perform as well as it's predecessor. My only concern is the same one many LD Riders share - which is the treadlife of the rear tire. B)

Last edited by a moderator:
Are these tires replacing the BT-020s? The tread pattern on the front tire is dramatically different.
Yes, these are the replacement tires for the venerable BT-020's.

I've been emailing some Bridgestone reps about them for a couple months now. One (of several) reasons for the change on the front tread pattern was due to the notorious scalloping that the front BT-020 is prone to develop. This tread pattern on the front BT-021 will significantly reduce this tendency:

BT021F.jpg

One of the consequences of this tread pattern, however, is that this front tire might be a touch "noisier" than the velvet-smooth BT-020 front tire. (Which is no big deal for many of us). I have liitle doubt the tire will handle and perform as well as it's predecessor. My only concern is the same one many LD Riders share - which is the treadlife of the rear tire. B)
And traction! Dont forget the traction! :yahoo: