Shopping for '03, in AZ (Hot), hear there's shin heat ?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AZ Greg

Reaction score
Hello to the forum. I've been riding dirt and street for 25 years. Last street bikes were a ZX9R, Hayabusa, and a VTX1800 (hoping to slow down a bit). I'm impressed with the FJR and will probably purchase an '03 this weekend. But have heard there were hot air flow issues in the early models that were fixed in '06. Being from AZ it'll be 115 degrees some days when I ride, so hoping for some wisdom from the wise. Plan to read the FAQ ya'll have before bugging the forum formally. But if anyone has a quick fix or suggestion for me I'd appreciate it.

best regards,

Greg

From one Greg to another - Welcome to the nuthouse!

Gen I model FJRs (03-05) do have a bit of heat being directed on the rider. They did improve upon this for the Gen II models (06 and later)

That being said, the heat bothers some, but in no way does it bother everybody.

Also, not all FJRs are created equal. I have two 04 FJRs and one is hot and one is not.

Regardless, I wouldn't worry about it too much. You usually don't hear of us Arizonians whining about the heat. If you are ridin in 105+ temps (as I regularly do) then it's just plain friggin hot.

If you are short, it will be worse as you will ride right against the tank which gets warm. There are also some home-grown 'fixes' you can do to mitigate the perceived heat if necessary.

Clicky HERE for a good summary of the heat issue.

Congrats on getting an FJR. You WILL love it.

Greg

Last edited by a moderator:
AZ Greg: Our esteemed SkooterG has given you some excellent advice regarding the heat issues on the 2003 Yamaha FJR.

My "Ms. Lucy Liu" is a very early serial number model and is hot, but following Greg's good advice the heat can be mitigated.