Trunk liners- what (if anything) did you use?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mad German

Reaction score
Good morning. I've been thinking of lining the inside of my Yamaha top trunk with something. Mostly to "cushion" things when they're in there. Is this something that most of you guys have done to your top trunks?

If you did add some sort of liner, what did you use and how did you install it?

I'm new to touring bikes, so I'm still learning. Thanks for any tips or advice you can offer.

I don't use the Yamaha top box, but I measured the inside of my top box and found a bag at Walmart that's just about perfect. It's got outside pockets that are handy for things I may need to find quickly on the road, shoes, electronics, etc. And it's large enough to hold several days' of tshirts, socks, etc. It cost me about $10.

To cushion things that need cushioning, I pack them in my clothes. My laptop, for instance, gets packed with jeans -- no need to take up space with a laptop case.

A few years ago I ordered a subscription to Cycle World magazine and it came with a small duffel bag that I use in the OEM top box. It only takes up one half and on the other half I use my lunch box cooler.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't use the Yamaha top box, but I measured the inside of my top box and found a bag at Walmart that's just about perfect. It's got outside pockets that are handy for things I may need to find quickly on the road, shoes, electronics, etc. And it's large enough to hold several days' of tshirts, socks, etc. It cost me about $10.
To cushion things that need cushioning, I pack them in my clothes. My laptop, for instance, gets packed with jeans -- no need to take up space with a laptop case.
Does that Walmart bag have a tag? Can you tell what brand / model it is?