U Clear HBC100 Bluetooth

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mab864

Reaction score
I've been searching for a bluetooth set-up for my helmet (Shoei Multitech Modular) for some time now. Most have mike booms that need to tuck inside the front of the helmet near your mouth to pick up sound. The problem I'm running into is there's not enough room inside the front of my helmet to fit a boom mike inside. I bought a standard boom mike style bluetooth and just couldn't make it work. Then I discovered this https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/uclear-hbc-100-bluetooth-communicator#videos_tab It's a U Clear HBC100 bluetooth that has no boom. It supposedly has a bone mike which picks up vibrations from your jawbone. I'm familar with that kind of technology because I'm a Professional Firefighter and our emergency radios have bone mikes build into our firefighting helmets. It's military technology that works very well on the fireground. Anyway, with the limited clearance I have in the front of my helmet, it seems this would be just the ticket. Anybody else using this set-up? How does it work? And yes... I did do the ____site:fjrforum.com thing already and got no hits. Anybody?

That's a great alternative with a full face helmet, but not sure it would work with a modular. I assume the boom is replaced with a wire and the mike pick-up that attaches to the front of the helmet? That's cool.

That's a great alternative with a full face helmet, but not sure it would work with a modular. I assume the boom is replaced with a wire and the mike pick-up that attaches to the front of the helmet? That's cool.
From the video it looks (to me) like the 'mike' is part of one of the 'ear-pieces'. Like the concept but will wait to hear how others get on with it :rolleyes:

Don