Wheel Noise When Leaning

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maddog

Reaction score
When I'm on the freeway and I lean the bike, I can hear a faint whining/humming noise coming from the wheel area. It doesn't make the noise when the bike is upright and I also don't hear the noise off of the freeway. Any ideas what it might be? Wheel bearings perhaps? The bike has 80,000 miles on it.

I haven't ruled out tire noise but none of my previous tires ever made any noise. I'm currently running Pilot Roads with about 4,000 miles and they are a bit squared off from my daily commute. It also isn't the road surface as I have been riding on the same roads for five years now.

Thanks for any input!

Larry

Ya know, my FJR has always made a different noise when leaned over that seems like its coming from the wheels. I quit worrying about it a long time ago. So far, that hasn't bit me in the butt so to speak.

Recently however, I am getting something new. Not so much a noise as a slight vibration. Only occurrs when leaned over and decelerating through 15mph. I think its coming from the rear wheel. I have checked the bearings and they seem fine. I am stumped. Guess I'll have to wait until it gets worse and becomes more obvious. BTW, I have an extra set of wheels and it doesn't happen on them.

Wheaton - You raise a good point, I do wear ear plugs. Today on the way home I won't and I'll see how the noise changes.

SkooterG - I'm not getting any vibration and the only time I notice the noise is at high speeds. But like you maybe I'll have to wait to see what develops.