Anxious Newbie - Already Reserved an '07

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UselessPickles

Making Grand Canyon replicas from air boxes...
Reaction score
Hi all!

I've been lurking about for quite a while soaking in all the FJR goodness. I'm a software developer from Michigan (Detroit-metro area) that has been riding BMW F650GS (with the hard side cases and top case) for 5 years. I never liked the sport bikes because of the uncomfortable riding position and lack of storage, but I've also always wanted some of that sport bike power and handling. My f650 has kept me happy, but it's definitely missing some power and highway comfort. The FJR looks to be the perfect answer to me :) .

I've actually had my eye on the FJR since 2003, but it had to wait because I was saving to buy a house. Now we (me and wife) have settled into the house and made it past the initial high-cost period of buying all that stuff you never really knew you needed when you buy your first house. I recently convinced my wife to help me work a new FJR into the budget. I got quite anxious and started visiting some dealers a couple weeks ago.

Even though there is no info about the '07 yet, the dealers are more than happy to take a $500 deposit from you right now. After some shopping around, I got one dealer to to agree to $13300 out-the-door for an '07 (standard shift). I gave my $500 deposit yesterday to lock in that price and plan to go back to the dealer as soon as the PDP begins to make sure my order is entered. Unfortunately, I have to wait until next June to take delivery in order to save up a big enough down-payment to make the monthly payment fit into the budget. It's gonna be a looooong wait.

Now I just hope the '07 model does not have any changes that I would not like (I am most nervous about the color) :unsure: