Need Advice on Buying New GPS

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blrfjr

Reaction score
Ok Im shopping around for a GPS but could use some advice from people who ACTUALLY use them. Being fairly new to the sport-touring thing Im not sure what I want. I would like to be able, with realative ease, tranfer a .gpx file found on the forum to my gps and see a route rather than a grocery list of waypoints. Again, Im new at this and dont really know what Im doing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Bryan

Last edited by a moderator:
I was on a budget but am extremely happy with the Garmin 1490T model I have. It has a 5" display that is very easy to see - that extra bit really helps compared to the smaller screens most have when you only want/need to quickly glance at the GPS. It works perfect with gloves. Very nice features. It is route enabled, so it accepts the GPX files you make. You can also make routes on it if you're bored on a trip in your hotel room. It has one button access to screen brightness (tap the on/off button and it brings up the brightness controls - very handy at night, even with auto-night mode it can be bright on night eyes).

Here's a photo of it on my bike if you look carefully. I bought a year ago for $129 and it has about 12,000 trouble free miles so far.

DSCN6945.jpg

I would have liked a Zumo (WATERPROOF), but they are expensive and I already had a nuvi so I mounted it pretty much the same as carlson_mn in the post above. Do a search for mounting options, as there are a good many ways to do it. I happen to like the ram ball on the steering head nut (ram-mount.com). I have a high tech moisture barrier for it (a ziplock baggie).