Pinlock Visors - Anyone use them?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SaharaJp99

Reaction score
I just saw a pinlock visor for the first time. Seems like a great idea. Currently I carry two visors with me, one clear, and one smoke. I like the idea of the additional anti-fog features of the Pinlock, and the inserts look like they would pack a lot easier than the visors do.

Anyone have any experience with them?

I have been using a clear one on my RF1000 for a couple years now strictly for the anti-fog properties. I wouldn't want to be without it as it works way better than anything else I've tried. If I want sun protection, I put on my sunglasses, they pack real easy.

I use it too, but not sure I'd want to keep changing out from clear to smoke and back. While it's not too terribly difficult to change them out, it would be an extra step, and (at least for me) you'd have to be very careful not to get annoying fingerprint smudges on the inside of the insert. Something that is probably more prone to happen when you're out and about.

Put my first Pinlock (clear) into my RF1000 this week and liked it. Worked like a charm riding in to work in the mornings. No negative side-effects that I can tell, and I do plan to keep using the sunglasses vs changing either the insert or the shield. Go for it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Picked up my first clear pinlock visor last fall...what a world of difference it made through the winter! Zero fog no matter the weather. I pretty much leave the pinlock visor in place and just use sunglasses now.