Re-waterproofing Waterproof Boots

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJRMaineiac

FJR Supporter
Reaction score
I have been using a pair of Oxtar boots for several years now and they have served me well. Very comfortable on and off the bike. They have leather uppers (they probably go about 1/2 way up my shin) and GoreTex liners. I noticed on the last day that I rode in the rain (not a short storm, but a day long rain ride) my feet were wet by the end of the day. I have some Nikwax Tech Wash and TX.Direct that I have used with some success on my Firstgear HT overpants (with their "ShellTex" brand of breathable liner), but I don't know if I could / should use it on the inside of the boots. The liners are sewn in - they can't be removed.

Has anyone tried using products like this on GT lined boots? If not, what other solutions have you used? In the past, I used to use Snow Seal (bees wax) on leather work books to water proof them, and it works well. I was thinking about doing that here, but I am concerned that it might defeat the breathability properties of the Gore Tex.

Hmmm? Thoughts?

TIA

In the past, I used to use Snow Seal (bees wax) on leather work books to water proof them, and it works well. I was thinking about doing that here, but I am concerned that it might defeat the breathability properties of the Gore Tex.
I snow seal my Matrix boots once a season and didn't notice them being any less breathable the first time I did it, but it did make them more water resistant....especially in the toe area.

+1 on the snow seal. I melt it and brush it on with the boots warm. I am on my third set of oxtar boots with no problems.