Riser Debate for Gen-III

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tommy Kay

Reaction score
I am new to the FJR community and to this forum. I love my new bike but need a little more upright positioning for distance runs. I am looking to get risers in the next month. I have read lots of good stuff about the pro's. I need to hear some of the negatives of each to help me decide which way to go. Please lets hear what you have to say.

Genmar Riser Blocks

#Y203

$89.95

blocks

fixed position

no ball mount

no break extension

MCL (motorcycle larry) Riser Plate

#11/29

$299.95

triple tree clamp replacement

fixed position

ball mount included

no break extension

MV Motorrad Riser Plate

€185.30 ($205+/- USD)

llate

adjustable position

ball mount included

no break extension

Helibars Riser Plate

#HR09079

$249

plate

adjustable position

ball mount not included

break line extension included

**Richsp51 +3 HEL Performance breakline replacement $49.00**

...break line extension included**Richsp51 +3 HEL Performance breakline replacement $49.00**
Whew, right up to the end I was wondering what a break extension was. I'm glad to finally understand at the very end that it's a brake line extension (I can be a pretty slow feller to catch on).
smile.png

Last edited by a moderator:
Honestly, all those products have some pretty extensive threads here, just a Google Search away...

You would really need to sit on some bikes that are already set up with these products and decide for yourself. And obviously, what feels right sitting in a parking lot may not feel right at all after 9 or 10 hours in the saddle. Another consideration is your seat. The stock seat allows lots of latitude forward and backward affecting the amount of forward lean. A custom made seat will lock you into the pocket, some risers work better with some seats.